There’s Only ONE

This last week, I moved out of my apartment in Norman, the town I’ve called home for 6 years, and am staying in Edmond until I move to NYC on August 15. My years in undergrad, and the 2 years after, have been the best of my life. I am truly blessed to have spent them in Norman, Oklahoma as a Sooner.

Norman holds a lot of my identity. It is the location where I finally discovered and became the person I am today. I discovered my true passions there, met the best people in the world, and felt at home. Leaving Norman ended up being a lot harder than I had bargained for. I was not just saying goodbye to my apartment, I was saying goodbye to my daily life as I knew it. All of the roads I would drive on, the places friends and I would dine at (In the Raw!!!), the Starbucks I frequently visited, and campus.

My heart lies at OU. Attending OU and becoming a Sooner was the best decision of my life. The University and the community have molded me into me. I can’t completely describe the way it makes me feel when I step foot onto campus, especially when I step into the stadium. Sooner football brings out an emotion in me that I never knew I had before college. It’s a feeling of pride, community, and belonging. Sooner football is more than “just a game” to me, and I know some of you completely understand what I am trying to say. Sooner football is home; it’s family. My heart races and swells as the crowd cheers, and I get goosebumps every time they show The Video. It breaks my heart that I won’t be returning to that stadium this fall for games like I have the last 6 years.

Norman has left some amazing memories in my mind, and has made a huge impact. Moving away was not an easy decision by any means; however, it was necessary. Necessary in order for me to take the next big step in my life: NYC. I could go on and on with examples and stories, but I won’t. Instead, I will leave you all with some pictures of the last 6 years of my life.

There’s Only ONE Oklahoma.




One thought on “There’s Only ONE

What do you think?

