My Week in Instagram: October 1-7

My life is officially insanely busy with work, school, and my internship. But I won’t lie to you, I am loving every moment of it.

On Thursday my Intro. to Galleries and Museums class visited the Edwynn Houk Gallery to see the Sally Mann, Upon Reflection show. I am a really huge fan of Sally Mann’s controversial work. In this series of self-portraits, Mann documents her physical and mental healing process preceding a traumatic house accident in 2006 in which her horse had a possible aneurism while she was riding him, throwing her off and trampling her, leaving her with extreme injuries.

These intimate photographs are developed in a civil war time technique using wet glass plates called the collodion process. This technique, which is done all in black and white and uses a series of chemicals, gives the images an old scratched look with uneven exposures. The collodion process only adds to the sheer emotion felt in these pieces. The exhibition consisted of groupings of close up facial portraits, and photographs just exhibiting her torso. In some of the photographs of her face, the way the photographs were developed makes her eyes appear as if they are glowing, and you can read her pain through her eyes. In other photographs, the exposure is so obscure the viewer cannot even make out all of her facial features. This gives these works an eerie and ominous quality. These were some of the most emotional and moving photographs I have seen from Sally Mann; there is such a range and depth to her work. This series of works really display her growth and move her into an advanced market with their fine art quality. I just wish I could afford to own one myself!

On Saturday morning I decided that it was time to color my hair again. Now I don’t know about you, but I can’t shell out $200-300 on my hair here in NYC. Thankfully, I have years of experience in dying my own hair, and as luck would have it, there is a beauty supply store a few block from my apartment. I decided to go with a darker more vibrant red for the fall. I’m loving it more and more every day! My hair is getting so long. (Okay, so I know in the picture my hair is blue, but I was a fan of the infrared photobooth option on my iPad… so sue me.)

On Saturday night I was invited over to a housewarming party with some classmates in Brooklyn. It has been so great getting to know everyone better over these last few weeks. I am taking classes with some truly phenomenal and interesting people, and I am so glad to have them in my life! I am very much looking forward to getting to know them even better throughout our studies. The party was great, it was nice to see everyone outside of the classroom and in a casual environment. After the party, Anna, Mallie, and I decided to hit up a few bars in the East Village. I had my first NYC bar hopping experience first stopping at the Village Pour (think late night Logan’s or Seven in Norman), one I can’t remember, and the Thirsty Scholar (where we all got a free shot, gotta love free shots).  I had a blast with these two, and am definitely looking forward to another girls night out in NYC.

Sunday was a day for relaxing. I rode the Long Island Rail Road out to Oyster Bay to hang out with my Okie friend Anna. We mostly spent the day relaxing watching SNL and going out to dinner. It was great to get out of the city for the day and just chill with a good friend in a quiet environment. We’ve decided that we are each other’s vacations. I head out there when I need a day away from the buzz and business of NYC, and Anna heads into the city when she wants a vacation from the quietness of Oyster Bay.

What do you think?

