Where I am Now

I am finally beginning to feel more settled and that I have started to make my mark in New York City. More of my nights are spent out with friends, and less time is spent in my closet sized room. I know my way around the city (Manhattan at least), and can even give others directions (it’s a great feeling to have someone ask me how to get to such and such place, and be able to give them detailed directionsโ€ฆ I’ve never been able to do that). I am being introduced to so many different cultures and experience on a daily basis, and am always learning something new. I love that I can now say I have friends from all over the world, that’s not something I ever thought I’d be able to say. I’m in this city for at least 2 years (probably longer, I can’t see myself leaving), and I want to make every moment count. Because being here is a blessing, and I am in the process of living out my dreams. If I am ever having a bad day, or something just rubs me wrong, I just have to remind myself, “I live in New York City,” and whatever was irking me seems petty and ridiculous.

For those of you who have been keeping up, you know that I have a bucket list on here. I strive daily to be able to mark off as many things from my list as possible. Moving to New York City has changed me in so many positive ways. One of these ways is to no longer be afraid of jumping completely out of my comfort zone. I am 25 years old and single, which gives me freedoms I could have never imagined. Freedom to go, do, and see anything I want.

One of the items on my list that may seem farfetched to some, is to live in another country for at least a month. Well, if everything goes according to plan (I’m praying this is in God’s plan as well as my own), I will be living in London this coming summer participating in an international internship program, for three months. I have never been to Europe, and regret not studying abroad during my time in undergrad at OU. But you know what? It’s never too late. The possibility of living and working in London really excites me, and I am praying with all my might that the application process (which just started) and financial requirements all fall into place. Your prayers are greatly appreciated!

For the last month, I’ve not only been going to school full-time, but I have also been balancing work and an internship. Sometimes I feel like I’m being pulled very thin (grad school is hard y’all), but I know that each of these experiences is necessary. I am currently one of two Social Media and Marketing interns at Artspace. I am loving this internship more than I have ever loved any other internship or job I’ve worked in the past. I think this love stems from the fact that I am finally doing something I think I want to do as a career. I’ve never known for sure, and things are finally coming together in my head. Right now, I am in charge of the weekend Facebook and Twitter posts, and will be assigned a long term project this coming week. I fully support what Artspace is doing, and am loving getting to know the company better everyday I work.

I look at where I was a year ago, and look at where I am now. In October 2011, I was attending every OU football game with Danika, watching copious amounts of The Office, seeing Taylor Swift with Dani, and working full-time, and trying to figure out my next step. My mom and I visited New York City for the first time last October, and I was officially hooked. And today, I live here.

God truly is amazing.

What do you think?

