My Week in Instagram: October 15-21

This week was full full full. On Wednesday night after a full day of work I decided to go out for margaritas and guacamole with Anna at Murphy & Gonzalez, a cute place by Washington Square Park instead of working on my paper. It was totally worth it. We both had been running on empty and could use a drink, or two (her more than me, she had just taken her Financial Management midterm… I’m not looking forward to that at all next semester).

On Thursday I ventured into East Harlem to visit El Museo del Barrio with my intro to galleries and museums class. I had never been uptown that far and arrived early enough to take a quick stroll through Central Park. The park is sunning kin East Harlem. I walked through the Conservatory Garden which was complete with a fountain, gorgeous tree lined pathways, and a pond. Fall really is so beautiful in New York. I can’t wait to see the park when it’s covered in snow this winter.

Friday night has go to be one of the best nights I have had since I moved to the city. After our required colloquium, a group of about 13 of us went to The Standard, High-Line in the Meatpacking District for a free concert we had all RSVP’d for. We were not sure if we would be able to get in but sure enough we all were (thanks again to Lori for finding out about this event and sharing it with us all)! We didn’t know what to expect, and what we got was more than we ever imagined! The party was on the top floor of the hotel, Le Bain, and we had access to the rooftop lounge and bar! The views were phenomenal! I never imagined that I’d be at a snazzy rooftop lounge and see an awesome free concert my first few months in the city. Lori introduced me to my new favorite drink, a Dark ‘n’ Stormy, which I now want everywhere I go (it’s Goslings black rum, ginger beer, and a lime… perfection).

The band, Tanlines, started their set around 1:00 a.m. and played one heck of a show! We definitely plan to attempt to attend another. My favorite part about the evening was just being with a group of friends having am amazing time with great conversations. I look forward to many more adventures together!

Saturday was OU’s homecoming against Kansas. I viewed the game at 121 Fulton Street and we whooped them! The NYC Sooners were selling NYC Sooner shirts and koozies, and I HAD to get one! It is finitely my new favorite shirt. Boomer Sooner baby.

Naturally, I really should be writing a paper right now, so I should probably go get that started. Yay grad school!

20121023-224753.jpg

20121023-225646.jpg

What do you think?

