My Week in Instagram: October 22-28

Well as you all know, we’re preparing for Hurricane Sandy here on the East Coast. I did my grocery shopping Saturday to stock up for what is looking like a few days trapped in my apartment. I am taking my new found free time to catch up on my mountain of classwork, and just relax. I am in Zone C, and so far only Zone A is evacuating. But we did just learn that there is a possibility of our power being shut off to protect the system due to the water levels rising 10-12 feet above normal. Yay Hurricane Sandy…

Now for a recap of my week. I have two novels I had to finish in the next 3 weeks for class, and just now got started on the first one (oops). It’s The $12 Million Stuffed Shark: The Curious Economics of Contemporary Art by Don Thompson. This book has turned out to be so so good, I literally can’t put it down! If you are a fan of contemporary art, or just have questions about contemporary art and why it is what it is, and sells for what it does, I definitely recommend this book! Thompson keeps it interesting from page to page. I started highlighting and realized I might as well highlight the entire book. It’s THAT good.

On Thursday night I hopped on the LIRR to head out to Osyter Bay to celebrate Anna’s 25th birthday at Honu. We had an awesome time with drink and food specials. I met her group of girl friends and they are such a wonderful crowd! And the Peking Duck was phenomenal, by the way.

Saturday night, after the OU football game against Notre Dame, I met up with a group of friends at a Halloween Masquerade on Broadway. It was so great to get dressed up, break out my favorite shoes, and go out, and I loved seeing everyone’s funky costumes. I ended up meeting Etel, and I am so glad I did, she is ridiculously awesome. After the masquerade, we went to a club where Anna knew the owner. I won’t lie, it was fun to skip the line outside and just be able to walk in. After the club we went to Puck Fair, a nice sit down bar, where I got my Dark and Stormy fix, and had the best fish and chips I’ve ever had (until London of course). I definitely want to go back.

 

 

What do you think?

