You’re doin’ fine, Oklahoma! And, God Bless Texas!

Words cannot even begin to describe how excited I was to go home for the holidays and see my family, I absolutely love NYC, but I sure miss them!

I’ve already covered much of the Oklahoma portion of my trip in an earlier post, so I will just pick up where I left off.

My mom, brother, and I went driving to see Christmas lights like we do every year. Sadly, my sister had to work and could not join us, she was very missed. We went to a neighborhood on Bryant in Edmond with fantastic lights on their trees, the Chesapeake Lights, the lights and decorations downtown around the Devon tower, and of course the neighborhood that has light coordinating with music on 23rd and Council!

photo 1

At my Mom’s, we open our gifts on Christmas Eve, and wake up Christmas morning for Santa… yes he still visits me. What can I say, I guess I’ve been a good girl.

photo 2

photo 4

Well this year was a bit different. Due to impending doom, aka a huge Oklahoma ice storm, we hit the road to my dad’s in Texas late Christmas Eve, and made it there around 1AM. It was a good thing we left when we did, because the snow and ice came on Christmas day.

photo 3

But it sure was gorgeous. I was sad my time in Oklahoma had come to and end, but it felt good to be in Texas and to see my Daddy.

We headed out to my grandparents house later in the week, where we spent lots of time eating, talking, sleeping, and then eating more. I was definitely constantly full of delicious food. I sure do miss having so many home cooked meals! I hope I ate enough of my mom’s, dad’s and grandparent’s cooking to last me until my next visit.

Leaving was tough, I hate saying goodbye. My mom, brother, and sister will be visiting me in NYC in March, and it cannot come soon enough. And hopefully my dad and step-mom will be able to visit me this summer!

I miss my family and friends a ton, and it’s still taking some getting used to being so far away. I am so glad they are all so understanding and supportive of my move to NYC, and realize that love crosses miles, and that distance is never a factor when it comes to true relationships — whether that be with blood family, or the friends we have, which is the family we create for ourselves.

062

071

What do you think?

